International Mammalian Genome Society

Award Winners for 2006 IMGC

The Secretariat and members of The International Mammalian Genome Society are proud of the students, postdoctoral fellows and junior faculty who present oral and poster presentations at the annual meeting. The outstanding contributions of these young scientists are recognized through several awards.

The first of these awards is the Verne Chapman Young Scientist Award, which is given to the most outstanding oral presentation from a postdoctoral fellow or student. This is a monetary award of $500 that reflects Dr. Chapman's dedication to mentoring junior scientists. Verne Chapman Young Scientist Award went to Brooke Miller (The Scripps Research Institute-Florida).

A large group of publishing companies sponsored this year's presentation prizes. genesis gave a $300 cash award for an outstanding oral presentation. This prize went to James Amos-Landgraf (University of Wisconsin). genesis also gave a $200 cash award for an outstanding oral presentation. This prize went to Debra Silver (NHGRI).
The remainder of the sponsors donated a one year subscription to their journal. They are given to the most outstanding poster presentations by graduate students and postdoctoral fellows, and are chosen by members of the IMGS Secretariat during the course of the meeting.

2006 Awards


This year the sponsors are:

Nature journal

nature genetics journal

Genome Research Journal

International Journal for Analyses of the Human and Other Genomes

Nature Reviews Genetics Journal

Mammalian Genome





[an error occurred while processing this directive]